Home > Family, Hunka husband, Tiny Monster > Meet Saoirse

Meet Saoirse

Saoirse catches up on some sleep

Saoirse catches up on some sleep

Our baby girl, Saoirse, made her debut on the world stage on 21 November at 11:11 hrs. She is prodigiously talented and stunningly beautiful. “There’s only one beautiful baby in the world, and every mother has it,” commented a midwife down in Queen Mary. I’ve lodged an official complaint and will not rest until that bitch is FIRED. There’s simply no excuse for that level of prejudice and ignorance in a healthcare professional.

Unfortunately, in the photos Husband took in the recovery room, Saoirse is virtually obscured by the great flobberfest of funbags – which kind of defeats the purpose. On a related note: instead of capturing me tiredly stoic but luminous, confoundingly gorgeous despite being makeup free, I look so spectacularly haggard that it’s hard not to draw the conclusion that my husband hates me.

However, since that would be seriously bad timing, I’m focusing on how tricky it must be locating anyone’s best profile when they’re shiny and covered in vernix and re-adjusting to the re-internalization of their intestines.

Saoirse at one hour old

Saoirse at one hour old

Saoirse gazes at me as if we’ve met before and she’s trying to place my face. Thankfully, this unsettling effect is offset when she blows bubbles out the side of her mouth.

Ok, now, look: I never fully got over the shock of finding myself pregnant again – especially since, if there was any sex involved, well, I certainly don’t remember it. In many ways I felt more prepared for Finn’s arrival. Or perhaps that should be ‘ignorant’.

In contrast, my second pregnancy felt like one long, torturous, acid-reflux-fuelled panic attack. Leading up to the birth there was no limit to the number of things I stressed about, including: whether my kidneys would ever recover from the skilled and precise foetal pounding sustained over the previous five months; how Finn would cope with involuntary promotion to big brother; my rate of recovery after a caesarian; whether Andrew was lying about taking two weeks off work after the birth; and – a particularly horrifying thought – that my daughter might take after me. Oh, and also DEATH; not only mine, but anyone else perishing while I was on the operating table. Because, you know, PEOPLE DIE – and not only old ones.

But what concerned me most, throughout the pregnancy, was that I wouldn’t love my second child as much as Finn.

Finn checks what sound Saoirse’s nose makes

Finn checks what sound Saoirse’s nose makes

Friends told me this fear was fairly normal, but it CONSUMED me; I love Finn so viscerally it seemed impossible I’d have enough left over for a second child.

Of course, what turns out to be impossible is trying to quantify love. 

I am besotted with my daughter.

Saoirse and Mum

Saoirse and Mum

  1. 29/11/2013 at 18:08

    Well, may God bless you and your swelling clan. Our very best felicitations from Canada. I realize that you and Andrew will be sleep deprived for the next little while, so we will try not to expect anything too coherent for the next few months. I shall miss your acerbic wit. How are you doing with pregnancy brain?

  2. ^_^
    29/11/2013 at 23:41

    Congratulations to you, and your family! A very beautiful girl indeed.

  3. vet
    02/12/2013 at 09:05

    Congratulations!

    Our new baby came as such a shock to her mother that she was still at work. I got a text saying “I think I’m in labour”, which I naturally thought was just the standard hysterics, and four hours later out popped Whatsername.

    We were so taken aback, we hadn’t even settled on a name. Still haven’t. She’s beautiful, though. In a stern, square-jowled sort of way.

  4. deadlyjelly
    02/12/2013 at 16:19

    Aw thank you everyone! And congratulations Vet! x

  5. 08/12/2013 at 19:36

    Congratulations to you all. Wonderful news. Delighted also to see the transfer of having one’s name botched, to other family members; that is unless Ms. Ronan becomes a major star.

  6. Anonymous
    08/01/2014 at 06:32

    So lovely to see pictures of Saoirse – she’s gorgeous, but then I never expected anything less. Lots of love from us both, Carole xxx p.s. are you getting any sleep at all ;-)

  7. 13/01/2014 at 10:24

    Hi Niamh,

    My apologies in advance for using your blog to do this – don’t panic, it’s not bad!

    Andrew was doing some work on my website but I cannot get hold of him. I’ve been emailing to contact@seo-marketing.co.nz. Is this correct? Would you please ask him to contact me.

    Thank you!!!!

    Kindest regards,
    Vicki Lowe

  1. 25/04/2014 at 22:32

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

