The deadliest, jelliest site ever. Brought to you by Niamh Shaw

I have to write acknowledgements and dedication pages for my first novel.

Before I even started Smart/Casual, I used to lie in bed at night composing my acknowledgements. Just to put this in context, I used to also draft my Oscar acceptance speech, my Olympic gold winning address, and my rock concert introduction. The latter went: “HELLOOO <INSERT LOCATION>! YEAH! ALL RIGHT! Bones, hit it. ONE! TWO! THREE! FOUR! <first number>.”

The acknowledgements for my book were more eloquent. In fact, they were a mastery of eloquence, running to roughly half the book and featuring passages of heartbreaking poignancy, sub-plots, themes, villains, twists, and character arcs.

Now that I have to write the thing, I am experiencing a mental block the size of Slovakia.

I have got as far as ‘Thanks’.

At least I have the dedication page sorted:

For Husband
I hope we don’t divorce

Comments on: "Vocation: Rock Star" (7)

  1. Some days, you’re just too cute!

    Of course he won’t … how can you imagine it. Any other woman would quite probably be just too impossibly boring for him, silly billy.

  2. Have to agree with Di – you guys were made for each other.

  3. deadlyjelly said:

    It was a variation on “I will love you forever”, but Andrew seemed to feel it was a bit too negative. I probably won’t go with that for the book. Now I’m veering towards:

    For Andrew
    [entire lyrics of ‘You are the Wind Beneath my Wings’]

  4. lol

    I just about pee’d my pants when I read that – you should come with a warning sticker girl ๐Ÿ™‚

    Andrew – there’s a spare bed at my place should it get a little intense around book signing.

    P.S. Hunka – Did you ever know that you’re my hero?

    Just asking ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. deadlyjelly said:

    How about:-

    For Andrew
    Who has hardly ever made me want to barf

    ?

  6. Scot said:

    Sorry no time yesterday to comment; it was my birthday after all.

  7. How about;

    For Andrew
    Whose wind gave me winged flight

    ? ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a comment