The deadliest, jelliest site ever. Brought to you by Niamh Shaw

090322-waitakere-ranges2

Last Thursday we consulted our map for a local walk we had yet to explore. This was how we discovered Auckland City Walk. We set off from Scenic Drive down the Anderson Track and, after a couple of kilometres of relatively rugged bush track (ie the mud came with sound effects) the path emerged into acres of rolling parkland.

We were so impressed that we brought friends back there on Saturday. To distract The Jedster from eating wasps, I took him for a wander to take some photos.

090322-checking-out-maori-culture

Jed checks out Maori culture.

090322-inside-out

A rare moment of contemplation for The Jedster; his default setting is warp speed. He spends a lot of time with his ear(s) inside out.

090322-jed-sticks-his-tongue-out

Jed blows a raspberry

Comments on: "Auckland City Walk" (7)

  1. Must admit it was priceless to watch you lead the Jedster about my lawn yelling “Jed…jed…wizz….jed….jed…wizz”.
    Laughing ever so slightly on the inside as fearless puppy thought it a fun new game called “bite the leash”

    Until I felt the need to go myself…..

  2. deadlyjelly said:

    You gave him STAGE FRIGHT!

    He’s still not fully over it.

    That’s the last time I show any concern for YOUR carpets ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Is it okay to swear here?

    I hope so because I must.

    Niamh, these photographs, the first 3 … fucken awesome!!

    I know it was a wee bit rude but I had to resort to my kiwi linguistical self to fully express my appreciation of your photography. You are blooming, you clever wee bunny … fair blooming as a photographer!

  4. deadlyjelly said:

    Aw, thank you! How lovely of you to say and I’m particularly chuffed it came from someone whose work I so admire.

    I do enjoy getting the camera out. So many shots look awesome in the viewfinder and blah on screen, but I still enjoy it.

    x

  5. But you do know, the more photographs you take, the more success you will have. It just happens so don’t worry. In the time I was absent, you have made so much progress and I’m betting that you’re already having a higher strike rate than that first week or two.

    Lovely eye, Niamh.

  6. deadlyjelly said:

    Gee thanks! I still regret not getting the opportunity to sit you down and pick your brains about technique and style.

    x

  7. Crazy woman, you have your own beautiful technique and style. And you’re assuming I’m clever enough to describe it ๐Ÿ™‚ But just be you and photograph what you love. It’s the best trick. Also work out which lens you love. For me it’s been zoom lenses forever although a new wide angle has distracted me some. I like knowing people well, hence the zoom thing.

    Next time you’re coming over, I’ll plan it better so I can come harass you some.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

