The deadliest, jelliest site ever. Brought to you by Niamh Shaw

This morning on Muriwai Beach, Jed and I met a woman walking her dog. His owner had the same hairdo as her dog Samson, an Airedale terrier. If you know your dog breeds, you can imagine how terrifying that was: Airedale terriers are exceptionally fluffy.

My dog may also happen to be exceptionally fluffy, but Jed has Serious Fluff: a protective layer that is largely waterproof and keeps him warm, handy when retrieving ducks in snow: SERIOUS Fluff. Let’s overlook the fact that it is lovely and soft and warm and snuggly.

Also, I don’t model my hairstyle on Jed.

ANYWAY, Jed doesn’t get to meet that many dogs, so we stopped to make acquaintance.

“They want to play!” cooed Samson’s owner. “Isn’t that sweet?”

I was not sure whether she was enquiring about her dog humping Jed’s head, which – honestly – I didn’t think was THAT sweet. At least, I could think of several other words that might have been more appropriate.

Now, I’m conflicted about humping. Whereas generally I am not a big fan of the hump – especially when one of my lower limbs is the target – there is no doubt that sometimes a surfeit of pure, joyous canine emotion can only be truly expressed with a major humpfest.

However, I recall the time in South Island some heinous spaniel stoat mix humped my four month old puppy all the way up the beach. His owner finally came over to wag his finger at his randy pooch – still grimly going for it, tongue out, eyes lolling – and said, “I should give you a smack for that!”

I’m not sure what his training method was (Pacifism? Christian charity?), but it had little effect. Personally, I thought a smack would have benefited either the dog or its owner. Also some sand kicked in their faces.

Back on Muriwai Beach, Jed took the humping with tremendous good grace. By that, I mean Samson escaped with his popsicles and hind legs intact and still largely attached to himself.

What I DID think was sweet, was Jed’s ambitious attempts to mount a dog twice his size for some revenge humping. This comprised a flailing leap onto Samson’s back, where he balanced on his nuts and sort of dangled.

AW, THAT’S MY BOY!

Comments on: "More about humping" (2)

  1. Did you notice the other night that Jed has soooo fallen for me – and not in a leg humping kinda way 🙂

  2. deadlyjelly said:

    Not to denigrate this passionate lust affair, but Jed is pretty indiscriminate with his love. Seriously, he’s a whore. He is
    currently putting moves on a teddy bear here on the floor.

    x

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

