The deadliest, jelliest site ever. Brought to you by Niamh Shaw

Waffling

On Saturday, in a stunning coup reminiscent of The Great Espresso Machine Victory of 2008, I held my nerve in a tense battle of wills to procure a waffle maker on TradeMe. I’ve been looking for a waffle machine for AGES – a whole week since I came across a recipe for waffles (get this: you chop up pecan nuts and put them IN the batter, so they get waffled along with the waffles).

It has only been used twice, and was a bargain at $13. Although, I had to drive up to Hibiscus Coast to collect it, so I suppose it wasn’t that much of a bargain if you count the $20 of diesel that fuelled the 2 hour round trip.

As a special, missing-Husband treat (and as an alternative to pancakes), I tried the waffle machine out this morning. Two minutes and thirty five seconds for the perfect waffle. The plates are non-stick, so no oil/butter/grease is required; the waffles just peel off. So they’re much healthier than pancakes – until you drench them in maple syrup, I suppose

Comments on: "Waffling" (11)

  1. MobileMark said:

    So ?????
    Where’s my waffle invite then ? 🙂

  2. deadlyjelly said:

    Your invite

  3. deadlyjelly said:

    Well? Where are you?

    x

  4. Flew up from Nelson last night.

    Hows the “maple syrup” supply situation?

  5. deadlyjelly said:

    Maple syrup supplies are running low 😦 Will pick up more in Pak n Save this evening – unless you have secret stores of maple syrup. Do you harvest it in your back garden?

    x

  6. It’s so sad we have to buy synthetic maple syrup in this country. I don’t know why we haven’t invaded Canada yet – the maple syrup surpluses alone would make the carbon footprint worthwhile.

  7. deadlyjelly said:

    Obviously, you haven’t looked that hard. There are two brands of real-deal, straight from the twig, no artificial additives, maply maple syrup in Pak n Save. It might cost $9 for a test-tube size bottle, but it’s well worth it, I say.

    x

  8. Probably comes from me shopping in places where I dont have to pay for the bloody bags 🙂

  9. deadlyjelly said:

    Flash git.

    x

  10. You guys are gross …

    Waffles are either a sprinkling of icing sugar, or perhaps whipped cream, or ice cream or all kinds of other toppings … but maple syrup. Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!

    Living in Belgium here, land of the waffles.

    Sigh, they make me feel ill when I eat them though.

    Pancakes = maple syrup.
    Okay?

  11. deadlyjelly said:

    As far as I am concerned, ANYTHING can be improved by the addition of maple syrup. Yep, no exceptions. That includes waffles. Sorry.

    x

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

