The deadliest, jelliest site ever. Brought to you by Niamh Shaw

528 minutes

While I wait for Husband to sort out my Dell, I’m back using my Compaq Evo N200.

Now, I love my Evo. I bought it about – ooh – six? seven? years ago. I still travel with it, since it is compact at 25.2 x 19.9 x 2.1cm, and weighs only 1.1 kg. I love it despite the just short of full size keyboard which cramps my hands and turns them into claws. I love it regardless how much I have to squint to see the 10.4″ TFT screen.

For some reason, Husband took against my Evo. Barely six months after I bought it, he started muttering darkly about obsolete technology (“Look, it only has 192 megabytes of RAM”). His resistance only grew stronger (“Niamhie, it doesn’t even have Bluetooth”) in the face of my protests (“What the <expletive deleted> is Bluetooth?”)

Eventually, I decided to upgrade. Anyway, Husband was begging me to BUY something, and who am I to slam the door in the face of opportunity?

Um, nobody.

That’s all I’m saying.

Although it would have been nice if he had been begging me to buy pretty clothes or kitchen utensils.

Regrettably, my Evo is not the laptop it once was. These days, it takes up to five minutes to load a webpage. When I try to install new software, I get told my version of Windows is not registered; then it throws a tantrum and will only run in ‘safe’ mode. Every so often, I get a message saying: ‘Your computer is out of memory. Click here to desperately claw back 10 Kb of free space. We will not be responsible for any damage you sustain holding your breath’.

So I am currently backing up my Evo onto an external disk – only 546 minutes to go – before reinstalling the machine. I will be back online soon.

I will not be responsible for any damage you sustain holding your breath

Comments on: "528 minutes" (2)

  1. Oh god, it reads like my dirty stinkin rotten HP Pavilion dv 2000 …

    Poor you … poor me.

  2. deadlyjelly said:

    Yeah, but there’s something kind of endearing about it too, don’t you think? It’s nice to have a bit of quirk in your technology, I reckon. Not only would it be boring if everything ran smoothly, but Husband wouldn’t know what to do with himself. He’d probably have to take up – I don’t know – gardening or something.

    x

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

