The deadliest, jelliest site ever. Brought to you by Niamh Shaw

This post is brought to you by a bestselling author. BECAUSE guess whose was the number 1 bestselling book in Malaysia for the week ending 2 August 2009?

If you guessed me, you would be wrong – but only slightly – certainly not so wrong as to be perverted.

According to – well, some obscure PR company – Smart/Casual was number 10 on the bestseller list, in like a bullet behind Stephanie Myer, Sophie Kinsella, Jodie Picoult and Dan Brown.

I’m not sure that the #10 slot qualifies me as a bestselling author, but I like to think that somewhere – Azerbaijan or Eritrea, say – Smart/Casual topped the bestselling charts even if only for a few fleeting seconds.

Hey, we all have our dreams.

Comments on: "Smart/Casual hits the medium time" (8)

  1. Cian said:

    Congratulations!!! – Of course it makes you a Bestselling Author. That is what the Web Page says (not that we can believe all websites, but I am sure this one is fine – or did you or your publisher/agency pay to get you on the list?)

    But of course next time you are really going to hit the big time and swipe that smile of Cecelia Ahern’s gob. How dare she be higher on the list! – but I suppose it is the Movie Tie-In. Think about it – if it was not for those films you might have been top 6!!! I think it is fair that we can extrapolate that if the Movie Tie-in books were removed from lists all over the world, you would have made it onto most of them…

    Personally I like to think that you were number 1 in the Vatican City!

  2. Congrats! What Cian said.

    Surely that should give you enough clout to get the book stocked in Borders? Point out your proven track record in selling to Malaysians, then remind them how many Malaysians there are in Auckland. (It’s kinda hard to tell ‘cuz the Census Office has redesigned their website to make it all far more difficult, but I suggest making something up – say, 25,000 or so – they won’t be able to disprove it.)

  3. deadlyjelly said:

    Ooh don’t get me started on Cecilia Ahern. Actually, I would LOVE to get started, but anything I say will undoubtedly be interpreted as professional jealousy so I am taking the high road (I only wish I had a map or compass; it appears to be dangerous terrain).

    My book probably WOULD be stocked in Borders, except that I, er, well, inadvertently insulted the shop assistant I spoke to about it. So Husband says; I will swear to my deathbed that I was delightfully charming.

    x

  4. If it’s any consolation, your blue cod was definately first rate the other night! 🙂

  5. deadlyjelly said:

    You are right: it was a consolation, although I would have gone with ‘tasty’.

    x

  6. Cian said:

    Well if you check out the Play.com “Little Black Dress books” Popularity List you are currently number 6 out of 76.

    http://www.play.com/Books/Books/3-/314361/2-/Promo.html?dpr=314361

    I think you should be rather chuffed with that 🙂

  7. Cian said:

    and you have made it to number 4 on Play’s list now!!!

  8. deadlyjelly said:

    Oh, wow. Mind you, I’ve never come across Play.com, but here’s hoping it’s a mega online emporium accurately reflecting popular taste 😀

    x

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

