The deadliest, jelliest site ever. Brought to you by Niamh Shaw

At the start of summer, Husband started talking about moving to South Island. He brings the topic up every now and then, usually at the beginning or end of a year when he bemoans his lack of achievement (apparently living a happy, fulfilled life doesn’t count).

I was all, “Yeah, yeah, yeah, sure thing Honey. I’m with you 100%. No, wait; my mistake. Make that 110%.”

Because I knew he’d do nothing about it.

Now, if you think you can see where this is going, you are so wrong. Sorry, I hate to be confrontational, so let me rephrase: you might be right, except you aren’t. Indeed, Husband did nothing about it, except for threatening to sell my purple fridge.

No, no; much to everyone’s astonishment – in this context, ‘everyone’ comprising Andrew and me – this is all my fault.

It was last Thursday week and I was bored. I decided to spend a quality half hour on Trademe before bedtime. I did a few searches on chimineas for sale, Goretex, bread makers, chickens, any items in the shape of a pineapple. Then, seized by a relentless whim, I did a search on rental properties.

I wasn’t looking for anything specific, just listings of 2-3 bedroom houses for rent in the $200-$400 range in South Island that included keywords: “private”, “secluded”, “trails”, “bush”, and “heated towel rails”.

After viewing 50 properties ranging from spectacularly awful to oh-my-god-you-would-have-to-pay-me-to-live-there-and-even-then-it-wouldn’t-be-enough, I was about to go to bed when I saw it.

Unfortunately, the scenery is obscured by a big wet patch. Here is the view looking south:-

And north:-

Welcome to Marlborough country.

We move in three weeks.

Comments on: "Deadlyjelly on the move" (15)

  1. I guess Marlborough’s gain is Auckland’s loss. Or vice versa, I’ve never been entirely sure whether that’s supposed to be comforting. Have I mentioned about your timing?

  2. Allan&Chanelle&Jack said:

    For real? You’re leaving the big smoke and heading south? Good on you. Now we have somewhere nice to stay! 😉

  3. deadlyjelly said:

    Hi Vet – you might have mentioned the timing. Something to do with sucking, was it? 😀 Have to say, the timing is feeling all too imminent.

    x

  4. Cian said:

    OMG – That is the View??? I don’t know whether to hate you now or… …I don’t know what else. I am so jealous.

    We were thinking about Christchurch (or possibly Dunedin) in the future, but I’m overcome by that view. I would love to wake up to that.

    I’m just dumbfounded and so so jealous. Have a great weekend – and wipe that smile off your face 🙂

    How lucky will Husband be to wake up to both you and that view. (flattery)

  5. deadlyjelly said:

    For real! I almost said something when you wrote we must be due a trip down South. We’re very excited – well, I am – Andrew’s emotional scale only goes up as far as ‘borderline stoked’ – although I’m feeling a bit panicked since we’re supposed to be out of here in just over two weeks.

    Andrew keeps saying things like, “I reckon I could pack the house in half an hour.” This from the man who allowed two days to paint the house – an estimate that was out by six months. Or 9000% if you prefer.

    x

  6. deadlyjelly said:

    By the way, you’re going to have to fight out visitation rights with Scot, who booked B&B for himself and family for an unspecified period that sounds suspiciously like it might run to years.

    x

  7. Allan&Chanelle&Jack said:

    Haha, the “seeking help” comment was kind of right too! 🙂
    Will be nice for you guys to be down this end of the country for a bit. Just a wee drive to Oma now! Good luck with the packing too. That part will be “fun”.. I think not. Sad for Marky though as he’ll miss having you guys around.

    Take care.

  8. Totally agree with you Allan – this should TOTALLY be about me – but noooooooo……

    One cant only hope the cruel barbs thrown at me in person (on a semi-regular basis) wont hurt as much when delivered from the South Island 🙂

    Seriously tho – I fully expect to be granted full visitation rights and will be applying to the courts to ensure as much – no matter how much they may fight it !

  9. deadlyjelly said:

    Cian! Totally missed your comment. Sorry, I’ve tried wiping the smile off my face, but it’s just about impossible. Unless I’m packing boxes – which is most of the time these days.

    MarkJ says Christchurch is a cesspit. Not sure what he’s basing that on, you’d have to ask him.

    x

  10. Cian said:

    a cesspit – Well perhaps it is derived from the historical rivalry between the English Anglicans in Canterbury and the Scottish Presbyterians down South or from sport rivalries. He might be a tad biased.

    The thoughts of living near the sea and the mountains are making me all warm inside. Enjoy the packing – still so jealous…

  11. Wow, I used to live on the airforce base over that way and wandered the drivable part of the Sounds regularly. Yum, just yum … oh, and wine country a hop, skip and a jump away.

    Congrats!

  12. deadlyjelly said:

    MarkJ – it IS all about you and indeed I apologise most sincerely if I ever gave the impression it was not about you, because it is, of course. I was labouring under the impression that it went without saying, but evidently not, so: YOU. Sorry again.

    x

  13. deadlyjelly said:

    Mark J – am I forgiven?

    x

  14. deadlyjelly said:

    How about now?

    x

  15. deadlyjelly said:

    Hi Di – I’ll have to look up the airforce base, am not sure where it is. But I love the area already. Shame we’ll just miss the Marlborough Food & Wine Festival – roll on next year! Hopefully I’ll get some nicer pics up soon – the day I was there was quite overcast.

    Hey – did you get your PUPPY? Didn’t see any mention on your blog – but it looks like you have been flat out with the work.

    x

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

