The deadliest, jelliest site ever. Brought to you by Niamh Shaw

Sucking eggs

Teaching your granny to suck eggs is a challenging endeavour due to preconceived notions on the part of both teacher and pupil.

Although startling and worthy truths may be revealed with a willing and enthusiastic pupil, the end result is frequently disappointing due to the inherent difficulties in teaching an old dog new tricks.

Comments on: "Sucking eggs" (9)

  1. Hej Deadlyjelly! Sorry it took me so long to get back to you! I had a lot going on here these last few weeks and frankly I also was a bit nervous, silly, I know. Anyway, I actually wrote to you before, if you remember, I was the one who had a copy of “Smart/Casual” before you did :). And of course I have your blog on my bloglist, I love it!! You often make me laugh out loud before I have to go to uni in the mornings..and your writing is always making my day :D. Anyway, thanks for the excerpt of “About Time”, I’m already saving space on my bookshelf …

    Greetings from Sweden
    //Deane

  2. deadlyjelly said:

    Hi Deane! I LOVE that you have an alter ego. Is Queen N stunningly evil, or always looking for opportunities to put life in danger to save the known universe?

    I DO remember you writing to me and when I saw the comment on your blog I wondered whether it was you. No doubt you will get a copy of ‘About Time’ before I do!

    I’m thrilled you enjoy my blog, always chuffed and amazed to get feedback from people.

    By the way, what are you studying?

    x

  3. Loving the mixed metaphors – reminds me that a rolling stone is worth two in the bush. 🙂

  4. Stunningly Evil of course..what else???
    Good question, sometimes I don’t even know myself what I’m supposed to be studying :S. But, after 5 years of fooling around (studying Religious Studies/Science and History) I finally gave in to the pressure from back home (they wanted me to study something more tangible, something I could find a job after graduating…as if) so now I’m doing my masters degree in library and information science…so right now it looks like I’m going to be the evil librarian…*help*..:D

  5. deadlyjelly said:

    MarkJ – you should also remember that absence makes a silk purse out of a sow’s ear.

    x

  6. deadlyjelly said:

    Deane – that’s an AWFUL LOT of Religious Studies/Science and History. However I’ve always thought librarians have enormous potential for stunning evil, so perhaps that’s an avenue your alter ego can explore 😛

    D’you know, I spent four years studying Applied Maths and Computing, and never figured out how to ‘apply’ any of it. I still fumble counting to ten.

    x

  7. Cian said:

    An Evil Librarian – I love it –

    Betty aged 92 brings her book on 1930 Knitting Patterns to the counter. Evil Librarian decided to include a book mark -i.e. a pamphlet on euthanasia and slots it in between pages 4 and 5.

    Tony, her ex, aged 24 brings his book on “Better Love Making Skills”. Evil Librarian tells him that the book is not suitable for him and offers to give him “Basic Love Making – An Introduction” instead, ensuring that all others in the library hear her advise.

    Jacinta, 78 reading a travel magazine. Evil Librarian goes up behind her with nice Hard Back book and slams it shut behind her head. After Jacinta recovers from suspected heart attach, EL (Evil Librarian) tells her out loud to keep the noise down or otherwise she will be barred.

    So okay fair enough none of them are real EVIL – obviously being an Evil Librarian is not a career option for me.

    DJ – you are not supposed to apply Applied Maths. That would just be plain silly. At least you had other talents to call on.

    Deane – I see I have a fellow Stalker (You, Library, Stockholm, Tuesday…) – Yay! Personally I am afraid to do the stalking in public – I’m very anti-violence and afraid of getting hit.

  8. deadlyjelly said:

    Cian – I have no idea why you think you could not fulfil a glittering destiny as an evil librarian. You demonstrate a rare capacity for true, complex evil.

    Gosh, your criteria for stalking are very low. If two comments qualify Deane as a stalker, I’d better watch my back 😀

    x

  9. Cian said:

    Oh no that would not qualify at all – It took me weeks! She mentioned on her blog that she had to leave a library in Stockholm as people started to realise that she was stalking them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

