The deadliest, jelliest site ever. Brought to you by Niamh Shaw

The National Express coach left Cambridge at 04:00. Raff, Carol and I agreed to leave the house at 03:15, for the half hour drive from Huntingden.

I got up at 02:45 to shower, dress and straighten my hair. Because I KNEW the first thing Husband would say when he met me in Dubai would be: “Wow! Your hair is really straight!”

In fact what he said was, “What took you so long?”

Close enough.

Comments on: "Planet Deadlyjelly: love = straight hair" (11)

  1. Google Maps agrees that Huntingdon to Cambridge is half an hour, but in the middle of the night I would have thought you could shave a good ten minutes off that. Unless traffic has got really out of hand in the past five years.

  2. Cian said:

    He said “What took you so long?” Is that some sort of reverse psychology?

    I would have thought he would have said something along the lines of “My God, you did actually make the flight. I was not going to believe it until I saw you here, in person, in Dubai.”

    But I think that congratulations are in order in being able to straighten your hair in under 30 minutes (assuming that getting dressed, showered etc. actually ate into this time too). That is some achievement and surely is worthy of a Guinness world record. Just to clarify it is an achievement compared to other women and not the state of your hair needing straightening.

  3. deadlyjelly said:

    Vet – you actually looked up the travel time on Google maps? Dude, that is GEEKY.

    Cian – I’m actually pretty nifty getting ready. I used to impress dates by greeting them at the door dripping wet and wrapped in a towel, then reappearing fully clothed and glossy five minutes later. At least, I think it was the speed of my toilette that impressed them.

    x

  4. Cian said:

    Dates were impressed that you were still using the threadbare towel they heard so much about from those who went before them. Once you replaced it with the Egyptial Cotton 2000gsm luxury towel they were less enamoured.

  5. deadlyjelly said:

    Yes, the threadbare towel was always too small.

    In retrospect I think it might have been a teatowel.

    x

  6. Cian said:

    Thankfully you didn’t take the alternative meaning (which I only noticed afterward)- that you might have been a bit of a sl*t cause that was so not implied.

  7. deadlyjelly said:

    Or another alternative meaning: that you covet my Egyptian cotton 3000gsm luxury towel.

    x

  8. solartap said:

    Deadlyjelly wearing only a tea-towel!

    Pics or it never happened.

    BTW, in case there is any doubt, i am a bit of sl*t, quite a bit really.

  9. deadlyjelly said:

    A/ There is no doubt.

    B/ Back when I lived with the nuns, I used to walk from the communal bathroom to my bedroom clad only in a towel, which inspired a strikingly ugly girl to enquire whether I was a lesbian.

    x

  10. Cian said:

    …and your answer was along the lines of “Honey with you around I can assure you that I am totally straight” I assume?

  11. deadlyjelly said:

    *sigh!* If only I were that quick-witted.

    x

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

