The deadliest, jelliest site ever. Brought to you by Niamh Shaw

Marlborough is colder than a witch’s tit in a brass bra doing push ups in the snow. It’s so cold, local lawyers have their hands in their own pockets. The other day we met a brass monkey looking for a welder.

Ok, well, maybe not THAT cold.

A tit bit nipply is all.

Undaunted by the chill, Jed and I still enjoy our daily walks. I wear about ten layers with gloves, a scarf and beanie. The temperature doesn’t deter Jed from leaping into every mud hole in his path.

When we get home, I throw Jed into his paddling pool and give him a cursory wash – or at least loosen the larger chunks of mud. Then I towel him down, remove my boots, collect his foodbowl, fill it; then shower while Jed dines.

We had a late walk yesterday and when we got home it was dark and cold. Jed was shivering by the time he’d finished eating. He was completely uninspired when I turned the hairdryer on him, so I turned up the heater and within half an hour Jed had reverted to balmy bliss. 

Today we found the perfect solution:-

This is what the dapper dog about town will be wearing this season.

When Jed was a puppy, Her Goatiness made this woolly waistcoat for him for duck-shooting season. It was so temperate in Auckland he never had occasion to wear it, but I think we will be seeing a lot more of this:-

Not many dogs can pull off this look.

Jed works it.

Comments on: "The dapper dog about town" (5)

  1. MarkJ said:

    It’s like rabbits in waistcoats all over again.

    I shan’t sleep tonight…..shudder

  2. Cian said:

    “It’s so cold, local lawyers have their hands in their own pockets” – That is just class.

  3. mumsie said:

    As usual I love your turns of phrase; you are one clever Irish colleen!
    I also fall more and more in love with Jed the more I see of him.
    Congratulations!

    xxx

  4. Unless you want Jed to be taken for some kind of Pokémon, I recommend coming back to temperate Auckland. At least for winter. We miss you.

  5. deadlyjelly said:

    Well, I’d love to take the credit for the turns of phrase, but tragically I robbed them off the Internet; I can only wish I were that creative while gorging on chocolate.

    Recently, Jed has been taken for a giant poodle, a rabbit in a waistcoat and a Pokémon. He’s so stressed about it all that he only slept three hours this morning.

    x

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

