The deadliest, jelliest site ever. Brought to you by Niamh Shaw

For some time I’ve been struggling with existential questions. What is Deadlyjelly? Why? Is it really deadly? I mean, has anyone ACTUALLY died from reading my blog? – because if so, I’ve certainly never heard of it. And whither jelly? Why doesn’t it come in black and white? Should the definition be expanded to include other substances?

As you can see: so many unanswered questions.

Before I set up Deadlyjelly, I regularly – or at least frequently occasionally – personalised and mass-mailed up to 40 emails to friends and family. The administrative overhead was considerable. The coffee consumption was excessive. The arse spread was cheekily encroaching.

Consequently I conceived Deadlyjelly as a means of streamlining my correspondence.

To that purpose, it has failed. Of the relationships that previously existed when I set up Deadlyjelly, the only one that’s improved has been with my computer. As a communication tool, blogging is passive and largely one-way. People are more inclined to respond to an email that’s clogging up their Inbox like a gently steaming turd. I don’t have the bandwidth – either figuratively or literally – to blog and email (which kind of defeats the purpose anyway); and I’ve never embraced the concept of announcing a new blog post, which feels like advertising.

The result is that I’ve lost touch with many of my old friends – and I miss them*.

But that’s not all. Due to its public nature, I don’t blog about what’s really going on in our lives: the family feuds, the scandals, the disease and accidental murders. My blog sucks up a lot of creative energy that should be directed elsewhere. And Deadlyjelly has had little to no impact on arse spread**.

And so Deadlyjelly is going to change. Only in the regularity of posting, although I suppose that’s fairly fundamental. From now on, I will limit my posts to every Sunday, unless our week has been particularly action-packed, or Jed’s feeling photogenic.
* While being amazed and grateful for the new friends Deadlyjelly has introduced over the years.

** Still haven’t resigned myself to the inevitability of arse spread.

Comments on: "Public Service Announcement" (7)

  1. Dear Jelly, I sympathise strongly. I too started a blog with the aim of not bothering to write e-mails to friends and family. And while it has largely succeeded in empowering my idleness, it has signally failed at sustaining and nurturing relationships. And as you note, it’s hard to be open on an open medium.

    Still, it could be worse, it could be Facebook.

  2. deadlyjelly said:

    Yes, I’m proud of never having succumbed to Facebook. I currently have several increasingly desperate emails from Facebook telling me how sorry they are I’m having trouble logging on to my account and where to click if I need to reset my password; along with a couple hundred requests from people gagging to be my friend. I simply can’t handle that level of popularity.

    x

  3. I die a little inside every day you don’t post – does that count? 🙂 x

  4. mumsie said:

    I too shall miss your frequent postings but think I understand. I’m grateful you’ll still do a weekly report.

    xxx

  5. deadlyjelly said:

    MarkJ – wouldn’t it be quicker just to take some arsenic?

    Mumsie – in fact, when I first started Deadlyjelly, the husband recommended I post once a week. Not sure what his reasoning was; perhaps he knew I wouldn’t be able to sustain the daily quantities of crap 😀 I’m finding weekly posts much more manageable.

    x

  6. Cian said:

    Don’t be mean to MarkJ. I kind of understand what he said 🙂

    But of course I’m glad that you are still posting.

  7. deadlyjelly said:

    Cian – no, no, no, you don’t understand the dynamic of my relationship with MarkJ. He understands that abuse is directly correlated to affection. If I liked him any better I might just kill him.

    x

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

