The deadliest, jelliest site ever. Brought to you by Niamh Shaw

Hey! How the heck are you? I’ve missed you. Sorry about the hiatus, but I’ve been preoccupied lying on my sofa painting my nails, watching daytime TV, browsing mail-order catalogues and ordering takeaway deliveries. Sometimes I dial random numbers, shout ‘Cock!’ down the phone and hang up. It’s great; I can spend hours at it.

Only kidding. I’ve actually been busy trying to figure out this motherhood gig. Yes, really. Not as easy as it looks. I mean, perhaps it depends who you’re looking at. But after years of grocery shopping, I’d always thought parenting was about yelling ‘shut up!’ with your mouth closed, and negotiating with confectionary. Which I’d thought would be pretty straightforward for someone with my verbal and confectionary skills.

There appears to be a bit more to it – although I’m not sure exactly what. I suppose at some point everything will become clear and I’ll turn into this totally bad-ass mother.

Any day now.

I hope.

So, what did I miss?

As for what you’ve missed, if the answer ‘not much beyond 50 ways to apply pureed banana’ doesn’t satisfy you, I’ve updated Deadlyjelly with news from the last couple of months. I hope I haven’t breached some blogging etiquette by back-dating posts. I’m not worried about the Internet Police, because I feel pretty confident about my ability to push them around and make them cry. If not, I will win them around with cake. Albanian nutmeg cake, to be specific.

However, I wouldn’t like to offend my loyal readership; so here, for the pair of you, are the updated and new articles I’ve posted in the last two days:-

Doctors have difficulty finding love – posted yesterday 3/9, updated with photo

How to apply a crotch post – posted yesterday 3/9

Wind chill – posted yesterday 3/9

Here are some more recent photos of our gorgeous little boy, who continues to amaze and charm us:-

15/7/12 We have THOUSANDS of pictures of Finn, but this is one of my favourites

 

16/7/12 Time for bed

 

4/8/12 We joined the North Otago Toy Library here in town. I’m a big fan of these ‘activity centres’ – and thankfully, so is Finn – which keep him entertained and, more importantly, immobile for anything up to half an hour at a time

 

4/8/12 Another hit from the toy library

 

4/8/12 Edible steering wheel yummy

Comments on: "Opposable toes would be useful" (2)

  1. He’s beautiful.

  2. They do often say that parents are blind when it comes to their children’s looks. But in this case he is so so cute. Seriously cute. He is going to break mother’s hearts, when they say “Look, there’s the child we were supposed to have, not this monster clinging to my leg.”

    You really do need to thank the medical profession indeed. They didn’t just come up with a designer baby, but an uber designed one. It really is a shame that you will have to pay royalties to the three mothers, nine fathers and two cats who contributed the genes, but I guess worth it.

    Some day when I come to visit, you’re going to have to hide him, because I’m likely to steal him or eat him – haven’t decided which yet. Depends on his age I guess.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

