The deadliest, jelliest site ever. Brought to you by Niamh Shaw

I know it’s been a while since I posted, but Jed was a breakout star on Deadlyjelly and many of his staunchest fans originated here. 

Over the weekend, we had to say goodbye to our beloved boy. He was generally in good health: old but aging gracefully. He went prematurely bald a few years ago, but it didn’t affect his rugged good looks or devastating charm. 

It’s hard to believe that he came for a walk with me just two weeks ago around Sticky Forest. He always got so excited when I put on exercise kit, and when he arthritically hopped around the front door I knew – in his head – he was prancing around putting gazelles to shame. Apart from thinking (hoping) he would outlive us all, I always preferred that – when the time came – he might go quickly doing something he loved. 

Things never work out as planned; about a week ago he started coughing and staggering, and on Thu he was diagnosed as having a heart murmur. Medication did little to halt the decline. By Sunday morning he was clearly on his final journey and we couldn’t let him die that way. In the end, it was a surprisingly easy decision, but so brutally hard to do.

I am so grateful Jed shared his life with us for fourteen years, that all his family were with him in his final moments, and that he knew just how much he was loved. 

We miss you already, lovely puppy

Comments on: "Rest in peace and love: Jed" (4)

  1. Cian O'Reilly said:

    For some reason, you came into my head yesterday. Now I know why. I’m sad to hear this of his passing. But thankfully I know he was very lucky to have such a fantastic family who loved him so so much. Sending you all hugs and much love.

    Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam.

  2. deadlyjelly said:

    Thanks Cian, I remember you knew Jed at the peak of his canine powers, particularly the rigorous goosing he applied to all without prejudice or discrimination. Thank you my friend x

  3. John Penney said:

    Hi Niamh, Thanks for sharing the news, I’m sure Jed is in doggy Heaven. Or maybe he has been in Heaven all along, you have certainly treated him well. Cheers, John.

    Sent from my iPad Pro.

    >

  4. deadlyjelly said:

    Hi John, lovely to hear from you. We’ve certainly had a blast together. Thank you

Leave a comment